Hawker Brownlow Education

Jacob's Ladder Gifted Reading Comprehension Program: Secondary Years, 8-9

Author: Joyce VanTassel-Baska, Tamra Stambaugh

Availability: In Stock

Code: PRU6951

ISBN: 9781760016951

No of Pages: 148

Publish date: 18/12/2015

Price: $39.95


Jacob's Ladder is a reading comprehension program for
gifted students that spans from early primary to early secondary instruction.
Students progress through an inquiry process based on targeted reading passages
that emphasise the progressive, ongoing development of higher-order thinking
skills that are relevant across the curriculum. This field-tested method of
moving from basic understanding to critical analysis of text was developed by
the Center for Gifted Education at the College of William and Mary.

book in the Jacob's Ladder Gifted Reading Comprehension Program
comprehensively engages with the Language, Literature and Literacy
strands of the Australian Curriculum: English, as well as touching upon
aspects of Humanities and Social Sciences, Mathematics and Science
instruction in nonfiction passages across the series. Through completing the
activities in Jacob's Ladder students will learn to comprehend and
analyse any reading passage, and demonstrate improvement in reading
comprehension and critical thinking skills, as well as an increased interest in

book breaks into three sections. The Short Stories section in Jacob's
Ladder, Secondary (Years 8-9)
includes works by famous authors, many
classics, among them stories by Edgar Allan Poe, Oscar Wilde and Virginia
Woolf. Poetry is drawn from selections by well-known poets, including Yeats,
Wordsworth, Tennyson and Shelley. The four works in the Biographies section
give details of the lives of Ada Lovelace, Marie Curie, Emily Dickinson and
Margaret Mead.

for students in years 8-9 to enhance reading comprehension and critical
thinking, tasks at this level are organised into six skill ladders: A-F. Each
ladder focuses on a different skill. Students "climb" each ladder by answering
lower-level questions before moving to higher-level questions or rungs at the
top of each ladder. Each ladder stands alone and focuses on a separate critical
thinking component in reading.