Hawker Brownlow Education

What Makes Different Sounds? I Wonder Why (F-6)

Author: Lawrence Lowery

Availability: In Stock

Code: NST8929

ISBN: 9781741708929

No of Pages: 36

Publish date: 08/06/2016

Price: $15.00


On their walk home from school, twins Jane and Jim explore why sounds can be startling (like sirens), soothing (like certain types of music) or mysterious (like eerie creaking in an empty house).

By coming along, young readers of What Makes Different Sounds? can learn as the twins do. They’ll be introduced to the roles vibration, pitch and volume play in how rustles, rumbles and rat-a-tat-tats are made and transferred to their own ears.

What Makes Different Sounds? is part of the I Wonder Why book series, written to ignite the curiosity of children in years F–6 while encouraging them to become avid readers. These books explore
the marvels of sound, animals, plants and other phenomena related to science and nature.

Included in each volume is a Parent/Teacher Handbook with coordinating activities. The I Wonder Why series is written by award-winning science educators.